Each year the Nominating Committee chooses a club member to be Ham of the Year. The committee solicits input from all club members about contributions made to the club and the hobby throughout the year. The announcement and awarding of the trophy takes place at the first (January) General Membership meeting of the following year.

SCHC “Ham of the Year” Award

It all started in 1990 when club member Dave Robertson (WK7A) felt the club needed some kind of trophy that could be passed from year to year to a member who did wonderful things for Ham Radio and the community.

Dave, being an electrical engineer who worked at the Jim Creek Radio station, acquired an electrical tube that had one pin missing  Carroll Hyde (KI7YG) used his woodworking skills to craft a base on which to mount the tube.  They called it the “Ham of the Year” trophy.  Carrol also built a carrying case to protect the trophy while it was transported between winners.

2023 Ham of the Year

Jordan Thompson N7XLD receiving the Ham of the Year award for 2023 from President James Jorgenson WA7JNJ.

We thank the below honorees for their selfless service to Amateur Radio and to the Snohomish County Hams Club!

YearNameCall Sign
2023Jordan ThompsonN7XLD
2022Anne GarayK2MTN
2021Tim KephartKJ7AKV
2020John Van DalenN7AME
2019Roger HootKF7VWT
2018Henry PolandKH6VM
2017Ray SmithKD7AVP
2016Jill HatchWA7JIL
2015Randy MatherAJ7B
2014Dave CornellW9LD
2013Rob SalsgiverNR3O
2012Paul EricksonKD7EJI
2011Jim BlakeKD7JB
2010Keith JacksonAD7FT
2009Jo Ann EricksonKE7NBZ
2008Tom HutchinsonN7PKK
2007James LuddenKD7RHI
2006Eric NordinAB7BF
2005Lorna HoleKB7PG
2004Jon FortierN7WDF
2003Steve BurlingKJ7YL
2002Gary WhitingerW7MGG
2001Jon FortierN7WDF
2000Bob HallowellKB7MMV
1999Don AndersonAB7V
1998Frank DolanN7WUB
1997Irv VarleyN7LGF
1996Carroll HydeKI7YG
1995Bob CutlerKE7ZJ
1994Carl CowlWA6DPL
1993Dave RobertsonWK7A
1992Loren HoleKK7M
1991Keith McNeilN7OPJ